(1) Range for base + handheld / (2) base antenna placement

Guest R James

Guest R James

I'm a complete newbie to this world, so apologies for the extremely basic nature of these questions.

By way of background, I'm looking for a communication tool for my family and me should cell service go down.

A way for us to keep in touch while one of us runs errands, etc.

After hours of research, I don't think I'm up for going the ham radio route.

I really don't have time for another hobby....

GMRS looks very attractive to me for a lot of the reasons discussed here.

Now to my questions.

(1) range is important to me. I'm realistic and don't expect to reach out of state. But I would like a 10 mile radius or so of communication.

And here's where the base comes in. I understand that the hand units are quite limited in range. But are those limits assuming hand unit to hand unit communication? Would a powerful base unit be able to communicate with hand units within the range of the base but out of the range of the handheld?

(2) I'd like the flexibility of using a mobile unit as my base. I have my eyes on the midland micromobiles. We're I to do that, how would I go about placing an antenna? Can I set it up when needed? Outside a second floor window? In the middle of the back yard?

Again, as stated, I really don't know what I'm doing here. Any and all guidance would be most welcome.

Thank you

A base radio is hard pressed to give a reliable 10 mile range to portables unless you get some pretty decent antenna height, and use a pretty good base radio (I don't consider Midland radios to be a good example of quality radio equipment - but that's just my opinion.)