Kenwood TK-8180K Toggle switch mounted on rear of radio ?

JCase

Question

post-2536-0-28662400-1603087069_thumb.jpgGreetings to all,

I have searched on line and within this forums on mygmrs and either I'm blind, my search wording skills are that bad or it hasn't been addressed before.

I Have two Kenwood TK-8180K radios but I'm new to Kenwood and know very little about them so far. The first one I've owned for a few months now and the second one I purchased off of eBay from one of those listings that basically told you nothing, I had to look up most of the information/specs for the radio myself. However, this second radio has a toggle switch mounted on the rear of the radio right next to the power lead. Nothing in the listing mentioned this switch and the seller had no idea, all he did was power it up to see if the "lights lit up". There are no labels and when I removed the top cover to gain access (had to replace the power leads since they had been cut down to a nub), I wasn't able to figure out what the switch was connected to.

Anyone have any clue ? 

5 answers to this question

Was the switch connected at all? It may have been used to disconnect from the battery to prevent phantom draw, however it seems a bit small for that purpose. The only other thing I can think of is encryption, however the 8180 can have a button on the front programmed for that so offhand without the radio or more info, I cant really say much.

The 8180 does have solder pads on the main board which allows different options. When you open the radio again, follow any wires that come off the switch, if you can, take a few good non-blurry pics. This will help us see what its connected to and perhaps what it does.

Hey WRAK968,