MXTA26 6DB GAIN vs. Browning BR-450 5.5DB Gain

Greg43545

Question

I recently purchased a Baofeng UV-5R Pro for use in my vehicle.

I plan on using it as a mobile for GMRS ( Yes, I'm licensed ( WRJD307 ) and I will obey the power regulations with it as prescribed for GMRS ) and I'm also studying for my HAM Technician License and plan on using it as a starter radio for HAM when I'm Technician licensed.

I've been looking at Mobil Antennas and two in particular have caught my attention. One being the MXTA26 ( 6Db gain ) by Midland and the other being the Browning BR-450 ( 5.5Db gain ).

I'd like to get opinions on:

How do they compare to each other? ( Transmit range & Reception Quality, etc. )

and

If either would work better with the Baofeng UV-5R Pro than the other?

7 answers to this question

I can’t help you with a comparison. I can only comment on the MXTA26 because it is the one I own.

I have no qualms with it. I use it top-dead-center of my SUV and connect it to my HT. I have successfully used it half-dozen times already talking along the I-75 corridor to the Cincinnati 700 repeater (with good signal) 34 miles to its North, and again 26 miles to its South East.

No adjustment to the antenna was needed, SWR was excellent from the factory. So, I am satisfied with it, and currently would not hesitate to purchase it again.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I can’t help you with a comparison. I can only comment on the MXTA26 because it is the one I own.

I have no qualms with it. I use it top-dead-center of my SUV and connect it to my HT. I have successfully used it half-dozen times already talking along the I-75 corridor to the Cincinnati 700 repeater (with good signal) 34 miles to its North, and again 26 miles to its South East.

No adjustment to the antenna was needed, SWR was excellent from the factory. So, I am satisfied with it, and currently would not hesitate to purchase it again.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM.