SWR Problems

Chanceseiler

Question

Hi everyone

I am new to GMRS but old CB'er. I put in a Midland radio in my truck. ( It's a recycled beer can truck )

So a mag mount will not work. The cheep little antenna mag mount gives me a 1 1.2 swr. The ghost antenna gives me

a very high swr. 1:2.5 with RG8X. Does coax type matter?  There is no shorts is the coax. Any help would be 

greatly appreciated. I'm about to walk away from GMRS.

P.S. radio in Side X Side is same setup, but RG58 NMO mount from Midland. SWR 1:1.3.

Thank you

Chance

WRJT366

9 answers to this question

Not sure why you would walk away from GMRS just because you are having a technical issue. Technical issues can and do exist everywhere in radio. All issues are just problems waiting to be solved. The hobby of radio is all about the journey of learning.

SWR issues can be caused by many things. Bad cable, connector, or adapter. Improper tuning of antenna. Antenna design expecting a ground plane but does not have one. Incorrect antenna being used. Antenna is too close to a reflecting surface when a reflector is not (by design) expected. A defective antenna. Others as well.

I don’t know beer trucks so I cannot relate to why a mag-mount cannot be used. Perhaps some pictures would educate me and others.

Could you post pictures and more information about the antennas your using, where and how you are mounting them?

With good product properly installed you should be able to achieve mobile SWR numbers mid to low 1.[n]:1 range.

Feed us with more information and I am sure the solution will emerge.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Micheal

I have a 2017 F-150 aluminum body. Took the paint off the inside of the roof to make sure ground was good. Checked coax to make sure my solder work was good. Coax is 19.5' long.