Mobile VHF antenna: Wide vs. Narrow

fremont

I'm brand new to ham and was looking at mobile VHF antennas.  I have a fender mount plate (NMO) and have really liked my Laird phantom "ghost" low (3.5") antenna in GMRS applications.  They make one in VHF at various frequency ranges.  My guess is that their 142-160 model would work fine for me, as I'm mainly interested in 146.520 for things like traveling, wilderness protocol, etc. and for the mid-150's to scan public safety, etc.

I've debated getting that vs. an antenna that goes 136-174, but, with SWR tuning, do you end up losing much of that range anyhow?

Good evening Fremont.

With the ghost style wide-band antennas I do not believe there is any adjustment involved. They are plug and play.

In looking at the Laird site, it looks like the antennas have a gain of 3dBi or less. Only through use of the antenna will you be able to determine for certain if it satisfies your needs.

An antenna that sits higher above the vehicle and one with higher gain value will most certainly increase your range, that may or may not be important to you in your area of use.

An antenna that features an SWR of 2.5:1 (as some of the low profile Lairds have) will also certainly result in more signal loss in your cable which in turn will affect range.

I am not using any low-profile antennas on my vehicle. Everything I am using is a whip antenna in the 40” tall 6dBi +/- range. I have been able to hit some GMRS and VHF amateur repeaters in the Cincinnati area out to max of about 35 miles using just 5 watts. My SWR on both my dual band Amateur and GMRS mobile antennas is 1.2:1 and loss across the bands I use.

I am sure you will receive some additional opinions from others as well.

Good luck.

Michael

WRHS965

KE8PLM

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk