IRLP and the internet

dgeorge

I am new to GMRS and have a question.  

It seems that most, if not all users are talking through repeaters linked to the internet.  Not very many transmitting directly through the air anymore it seems.  I am just wondering what would happen if for any reason the internet went down across a region, the U.S., or the world?  

Would Ham and GMRS be crippled?  What are the options if such a catastrophic event occurred.  I think a lot of people are depending on radio communications in such an emergency where cell service and/or the internet went down.

Just a hypothetical, but a good topic for discussion.

Thanks,

Don

Hi Don and great question.

Really it all depends on the type of repeater that is being accessed and is really only a problem directed at the Ham community. Normal repeaters with a link or node controller will simply continue doing its thing when it receives a signal, only it wont be able to transmit to other repeaters. Not crippling, as the system is still functional, however range will be greatly reduced to only that of the repeater in use. This is true for both normal analog and digital repeaters.

There is another form of repeater that has taken off in the amateur community and deals with digital communications. Many hams use a digital hotspot at their homes to communicate with other digital users and are essentially a very low power local repeater. These hotspots typically have little range, perhaps a block or two at best, and rely souly on an internet connection to relay any traffic it receives.

The good thing is that emergency communications groups in both radio community's have already planed for these sorts of events. Typically digital wont be used at all unless an area wide digital repeater has been set up. Likewise, when an incident arises it is expected that power and internet will be out and thus repeaters will be unable to link, even if they are running by back-up power.

Hope this answers your question :)