Help with home base gmrs

Jeepandy

Hello, as I am new to obtaining gmrs license, I have a question about home gmrs radio. Currently I only have a Btech v1 handheld. I would like to setup something for my house. Here’s the main question. I live in an apartment and can’t “attach” an antenna to the roof. I do live on second story with balcony. Any recommendations please?? And a good cheaper starter radio???

Good day, and welcome to GMRS.

Last question first. No, I can’t recommend a cheaper starter radio than what you have. So on the Antenna issue.

In GMRS, antenna height is absolutely the most import ingredient in achieving radio range. Height is important for two reasons. First, the higher the antenna the further the signal can travel before it is blocked by the horizon of the earth. Second, because every obstacle (tree, pole, building, hill, etc...) that is between your antenna and other person’s antenna degrades usable range, and typically quite dramatically at that.

I have and have regularly used the Ed Fong rollup J-Pole antenna, designed mostly for portable use. He also makes one for permanent installation. They are simple and very flexible antennas. The latter could be a good one to mount on the railing of your apartment. If you could give it some height, you would even be better off. If you have repeaters that you can access with your HT right now from your balcony, these antennas will definitely represent a marked improvement for you.