Motorola M1225-LS Repeater Question

Spudhut

Question

Hello all. 

Im new to GMRS but have been a HAM for a while. 

I have been lurking for a bit and taking in all the information I can on radios and building small repeaters.

I have a couple Motorola M1225-LS's (40w 2 channel) and want to build a repeater with them.  I understand the software is XP based (im looking into getting a machine with this), but my biggest concern are any issues that I may not be aware of while doing this.  Im buying a duplexer and all equipment to be able to adjust and tune in.

I know there are many folks that use the M1225's but not specifically the 'LS' units.  

Is there anything that I should be aware of before I start to chase this rabbit hole ie:  Hardware, repeater cable, specific versions to stay away from, etc.

Any links is greatly appreciated to other threads or websites.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

14 answers to this question

I don't recall what programming for accessory pins the LS offers but that's the biggest issue you may have.

No need. The M1225 (and the LS versions) program just fine through the mic connector. They use the same programming cable as the Radius, MaxTrac, GM300, CDM and several other families of Motorola radios.

I have a couple Motorola M1225-LS's (40w 2 channel) and want to build a repeater with them.  I understand the software is XP based (im looking into getting a machine with this), but my biggest concern are any issues that I may not be aware of while doing this.  Im buying a duplexer and all equipment to be able to adjust and tune in.

I know there are many folks that use the M1225's but not specifically the 'LS' units.  

Is there anything that I should be aware of before I start to chase this rabbit hole ie:  Hardware, repeater cable, specific versions to stay away from, etc.

Any links is greatly appreciated to other threads or websites.

Your help is greatly appreciated.