Newbie. I just got a signal hit from a repeater channel - NOW WHAT?

BradfordD

It is VERY quite where I live.... as in NOBODY OUT THERE...  But, I was scanning and got a hit on a repeater...  I was able to retrieve it's CTCSS code.  As there are several repeaters in my area (five using the same frequency - as shown on My GMRS map page) - I've sent out the following email:

Hi ****,

I’m new to GMRS and my Call Sign is ******.  I recently purchased a handheld and while scanning, I noticed that I may have gotten your repeater (it was giving out its repeater tone every few minutes).

It came up on mine as RPT-22 / CH-030 on 462.72500 (with a CTCSS code of 131.8) – and yours is ONE of the only matches that I could find locally.

I live on *** *** ****, and was actually a bit surprised!

I got your info on “myGMRS” and would like to request occasional repeater use if possible.  I don’t even know if I could trigger your repeater – but I would like to try anyway.

Please let me know if this is okay and if there is any special instructions in doing so.

I then ended the email with my name, address, phone number and Callsign.

Anything else that I should be doing??  

I live at sea level and am surrounded by hills and water....  Just how far can a handheld reach out to??  

13 hours ago, BradfordD said:

I live at sea level and am surrounded by hills and water....  Just how far can a handheld reach out to??  

A good rule of thumb is:

If you can "see" line of sight to whomever you are trying to communicate with, you should be able to talk to them.

By "see," even if it requires binoculars to see them.  The point is what obstructions are in the way and how high and unobstructed is your antenna?

Given you are using a Handheld, when inside, remember there are walls in the way, too.

If there are five repeaters in your area, you may want to invest in a rooftop antenna, to maximize your reach.  That should help the fact that you are at sea level.