Need help determining correct connectors between outside antenna and HT

bluesky

Question

Would really appreciate your help with connecting an external antenna to my HT.  My goal is to connect several family members that live close together.  We’ve done a test and can reach (barely) with a NA-771G antenna outside (2.15 db Gain).  I figure if I can get a better antenna and mount it higher we may get better reception.  I’ve read that I should put BNC connectors on the radios thus the extra complication.  Here is what I think the configuration should be but I have limited knowledge so could be going down the wrong path.  Also, if you could provide links to purchase the Pigtail and BNC connector I would appreciate it.  Should the BNC connector be right angle?

1.      Antenna - Ed Fong GMRS Antenna with N connector (assuming this is Female) – 5db Gain

2.      Coax - 25 feet LMR400 Coax with N connector (male) – have DX engineering build the cable

3.      Pigtail – N Female to BNC Male

4.      BNC Connector – BNC Female to SMA Female - Right Angle?

5.      Radio – Wouxon 805G with SMA Male

6 answers to this question

I've had the best luck using a BNC female to SMA to attach to the HT, then get a jumper cable from BNC male to your 400. The 400 will be way to stiff to connect direct to the HT. The BNC adapters typically swivel, which is what you want to relieve the tension to the HT antenna imput.

I mounted a JPole antenna on a 10' tall pipe on my deck railing and cable it to my HT.