Coax quality effects on SWR

yqtszhj

Question

I’m relatively new to antenna tuning and am wondering about coax quality effects on SWR. Here is my situation.

My setup:

I picked up a Midland MXT 500 along with a Midland MXTA26 antenna. They are both good in the original configuration and I get good range to a HT. SWR is 1.01 on GMRS low channels and 1.38 on higher power channels?  Next I picked up a base antenna for the house with 25 ft. of LMR-400 cable and get 1.03 on low and 1.48 on high channels. I’m good with that.

Here is where I start chasing the rainbows:

In the pursuit of more actual power actually being transmitted, and since the Midland magnet mount antenna uses 20 ft. of some “high loss” RG-58, I have the urge to use some better cable and ditch the magnet mount since my truck would permit using a 10 ft. run of LMR-400 with very minimal bending.

My issue:

I did some testing of the Midland MXTA26 antenna using the 25 ft. of LMR-400 that works well with the base antenna, but I’m getting a SWR of 2.8 with the Midland Antenna and a one piece UHF to NMO adapter used for a Jeep mount setup. I did use a 12 inch disk as a pseudo ground plane but it made no difference one way or the other.

The question???

Would lower loss cable cause the SWR to increase from 1.01 to 2.8 requiring the antenna to be tuned a bit. The only thing I cannot test on something else is the UHF/NMO adapter but there is nothing to that and everything ohms out good. Id hate to do any antenna modification if it won’t work anyway.

8 answers to this question

High loss cable would act more like a dummy load, eating the radio power and the reflected power as well, so it looks like you have a better antenna than it is.

You also need to measure impedance, not just SWR, and check the cable patch alone, to see the loss and the impedance of just the bare cable. Connectors could also be problematic. A bad connector can ruin the entire setup as well.

G.