Other callsigns?

WRPS255

Hi All,

Im brand new to radio and GMRS. I just bought a KV935G and received my GMRS callsign.

I have yet to make my first transmission and have been listening to othersonly.

My question is about the callsigns I hear being used. I hear folks using a callsign that is a city followed by a two digit or three digit number. They still use the GMRS callsign when clearing though.

How do I obtain, or know this callsign for myself? 

Thanks 

23 minutes ago, WRPS255 said:

I hear folks using a callsign that is a city followed by a two digit or three digit number.

How do I obtain, or know this callsign for myself? 

Thats not a callsign, at least not a "real"/legal GMRS/FCC callsign.

To learn more whatever made-up codes their using, ask the guy thats using it.  It's probably a club-membership number or something.

1 minute ago, OffRoaderX said:

Thats not a callsign, at least not a "real"/legal GMRS/FCC callsign.

To learn more whatever made-up codes their using, ask the guy thats using it.  It's probably a club-membership number or something.

Agreed...asking is the best way to know.

One other thought (what came to mind for me anyway) is it may be a convention on a certain linked network to help others identify which repeater they're talking into the network on. Do the names they're announcing line up with anything listed in your area on the map?

(You may need to hit the gear icon in the top left to "show stale repeaters" to see them if they haven't been updated in the past year) 

9 hours ago, wayoverthere said:

Agreed...asking is the best way to know.

One other thought (what came to mind for me anyway) is it may be a convention on a certain linked network to help others identify which repeater they're talking into the network on. Do the names they're announcing line up with anything listed in your area on the map?