CHIRP Properties Settings

michaeld57

Question

Hi everybody,

I am new to GMRS and CHIRP. I have, what I hope, is an easy question for you folks. I am using a Baofeng UV-9G. In CHIRP, looking at channel 1, the following. If a category is not listed it's because it is blank.

Frequency 462.5625

Name GMRS 1

Tone Mode None

Duplex None

Mode FM

Power High

When you click Memory Properties, here is what I have.

Frequency 462.5625

Name GMRS 1

Tone 88.5

Tone Sql 88.5

Cross Mode Tone-Tone

DTCS Code 23

RX DTCS Code 23

DTCS Pol NN

Offset 0.000000

Mode FM

Power High

This is how all of the property settings appear. I also have a Baofeng BF-F8HP. Working on getting licensed, but for now listen only. Anyway, the Memory Properties are the same as the UV-9G. If anyone could take a look and tell me if this is right I would appreciate it. these settings are how my radio is from the factory.

Thanks,

Michaeld57

6 answers to this question

Steve and wayoverthere , thanks for the reply. I hope that I am replying correctly, it has been years since I've posted on a forum. If either of you could tell me the correct way to reply, or point me to a FAQ about it, great!

Anyway, what I'm confused about is  the Memory Properties settings in CHIRP. No matter if I programmed in a frequency or not, the Memory Properties all have the following already there. This is for any Baofeng radio that I have.

Tone 88.5

Tone Sql 88.5

DTCS Code 23

RX DTCS Code 23

DTCS Pol NN

Mode FM

Power High

Are these settings supposed to be there? I tried to find answers online, but no luck.

There is a repeater near me for Brunswick, Ohio. When I print out the settings, this is what's listed.

Downlink 462.625

Uplink 462.625

Uplink Tone131.8

Downlink Tone 131.8

County Medina

Owner WRKT687

Use Open

For this repeater, what should be in the Memory Properties? Sorry to be going on here, but once I know what's what I'll be OK. Thanks for any help!

Michaeld57

32 minutes ago, michaeld57 said: