Vertex VXR-7000U

chasedog1

Question

20 answers to this question

The internal oscillator on the VXR7000 never turns off, it is always on when in repeat mode. This helps reduce keyup/warm up time. Get a few hundred feet away and see if you are still experiencing the same "issue". Your HT will always pickup the internal oscillator if you are in close proximity to the unit.

7 hours ago, chasedog1 said:

Ok so this repeater on desk mode works as it should. On repeat mode it will repeat the broadcast, the repeater tail ends then when it does it still transmits but does so with a squeal and will not stop unless the power is turned off. Any suggestions of where to start ?

Does it sound like feedback?

9 minutes ago, chasedog1 said:

lost me on that one, you are the PE I am just a hobbyist

I apologize. I was just wondering if some audio (I guess it could be RF also) is somehow being routed back from the transmitter to the receiver side of the repeater, where it would be picked up and sent to the transmitter as feedback. I know nothing about that specific repeater so my speculation is probably BS anyway.

15 minutes ago, chasedog1 said:

Well you know way more than I do about it, its really frustrating me to the point I am ready to give up after putting a ton of money into everything ... I just don't know where to start testing to see whats wrong.

Look at this that I found on ehams:

https://www.eham.net/reviews/view-product?id=3650

In 2007 our repeater site was apparently struck by lightning, resulting in damage to our VXR-7000 repeater unit. It was returned to Yaesu for repair.
Upon the repeater’s return we became aware that the unit was not as sensitive as it had once been. Initially we put this down to band conditions and bided our time. When things did not improve, we began testing our whole repeater installation. We had our duplexer professionally checked out by a fellow ham with access to professional test equipment. The duplexer is totally up to spec.