Repeaters

Buffalo1

I’m new to this gmrs hobby.  I have the uv-5r by baofeng. I have four units that I want to communicate with my daughter and grandson. I use these radios as walk-in talkies when we travel and when wE go hiking and camping.  Now I learn that you can use repeaters and communicate over lots of miles.  My grandson lives in Texas and I in New Mexico. Is it possible to link up with him via repeaters.  And I’m not a ham operator. Just gmrs.    Thank you and my apologies if my question is ignorant. I’m ignorant when it comes to this stuff but I’m interested in it now.   Thank you in advance.  If texting is easier. Richard at 817-578-5607 cell #.  

Welcome to the hobby and welcome to the forum !!!

In general terms, a single repeater will be able to help you with communication within your area. Those machines are often located at higher elevation so that they can help out when structure or mountains hinder simplex (direct) communication.

I am not familiar with your area, but I am certain that someone will jump in "any minute".

Yes, some repeaters are linked to each other and in some cases repeaters allow for links through alternative gateways such as Zello (in that case, you might connect to a repeater in a different state via a phone app and your counterpart is using a radio to reach the repeater).

As you are waiting for someone with local knowledge (closer to your home), keep reading the forum - you might find your solution :)

Again: Welcome !!!

Welcome.

Unfortunately, the distance is pretty far. Depending on how far you are it would be cheaper to buy a house close by and live there. You didn't mention how far, unfortunately.