Arizona GMRS

WRYV458

10 minutes ago, WRYV458 said:

Looking to find some local people. I am new to GMRS and radios. I have installed a mobile unit in my truck and trying to understand programming for repeaters. But i never hear if anyone is actually hearing me or not. 

There's several open repeaters in the general Phoenix area. You can find them listed on this site. I would suggest setting them up in your radio, and throw your call sign out there and ask for a signal report, or just say you're listening. It's a very conversational system, no silly jargon. Generally speaking, there aren't many non-stop conversations going on, but people may be listening, and might just come back to you.

What area are you trying from and which repeater are yoh trying to access? What radio are you using?  If you join the AZ GMRS and/or Southwest Community Repeater (SWCRS) Club(s) you can get plenty of help with your programming needs and have access to a few more repeaters that are not available to non-members. Both repeater clubs have a lot of expert resources.

9 hours ago, WRYV458 said:

Looking to find some local people. I am new to GMRS and radios. I have installed a mobile unit in my truck and trying to understand programming for repeaters. But i never hear if anyone is actually hearing me or not. 

It looks like you are in an area with quite a few open repeaters. To figure out what’s going on let’s get some more info and maybe we can narrow down a solution. Are you hearing other people on a repeater? What radio do you have and how are you programming it?  Are you using Chirp?