What’s this sound before the repeater ID?

JamesBrox

Question

10 answers to this question

I'm no expert in hash that comes out of transmitters, but it may be a sound effect added by the repeater owner. It kinda sounds like a slide guitar note from one of the old western movies. My 2-meter repeater had a DVR linked to it that could play recorded messages and voice ID. Whether that can be superimposed with the Morse Code IDer I don't know. It also sounds like fan noise being picked up and mixed with the transmitted audio. Weird either way.

30 minutes ago, WRQC527 said:

I'm no expert in hash that comes out of transmitters, but it may be a sound effect added by the repeater owner. It kinda sounds like a slide guitar note from one of the old western movies. My 2-meter repeater had a DVR linked to it that could play recorded messages and voice ID. Whether that can be superimposed with the Morse Code IDer I don't know. It also sounds like fan noise being picked up and mixed with the transmitted audio. Weird either way.

Thx 527. I should have been more specific. I am the owner of the repeater. I’m using a HT listening for traffic on the back porch at the house. The repeater is in the shack a couple hundred feet away. The fan is set to turn on while in TX. I didn’t change any settings in the repeater from the manufacturer. Plug and play.

12 minutes ago, Sshannon said:

What is generating the Morse code call sign? Is that integrated with the radio pair you’re using for a repeater or are you using a separate system like an id-o-matic?

Yes, it's integrated. It's an option that came with the repeater from the manufacturer. It's my call sign.

1 hour ago, JamesBrox said:

The fan is set to turn on while in TX.

2 things.

1. Does the noise happen when someone transmits to your repeater so you can hear it on the repeater output the same way you hear it when your repeater IDs?

2. Can you temporarily disable the fan and see if the noise goes away?