looking for help

olif1947

I am a newbie to GMRS.  I bought a Midland MX-115 radio and 6 gain antenna.  I mounted it in my van.  I just listen to conversations getting use to the lingo etc.  I got my license WRKR-790 .  I got permission from the local repeater site to use the repeater.  I just don't know how to get the radio set up to work on the repeater.  I need to get with someone to help me set it up.  I am in the Beaver Dam Wi area.  The repeater is in Beaver Dam and Mayville.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

25 minutes ago, olif1947 said:

I am a newbie to GMRS.  I bought a Midland MX-115 radio and 6 gain antenna.  I mounted it in my van.  I just listen to conversations getting use to the lingo etc.  I got my license WRKR-790 .  I got permission from the local repeater site to use the repeater.  I just don't know how to get the radio set up to work on the repeater.  I need to get with someone to help me set it up.  I am in the Beaver Dam Wi area.  The repeater is in Beaver Dam and Mayville.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks

There are numerous YouTube videos on how to program virtually any radio using any software. Try looking on YouTube for videos and learn from them. It's really easy as the Midland radios are rather dumb and lack a lot of options. You'll need three things, the Midland or compatible software, a programming cable for your radio along with your radio being connected to your computer through the programming cable.

1 hour ago, BoxCar said:

There are numerous YouTube videos on how to program virtually any radio using any software. Try looking on YouTube for videos and learn from them. It's really easy as the Midland radios are rather dumb and lack a lot of options. You'll need three things, the Midland or compatible software, a programming cable for your radio along with your radio being connected to your computer through the programming cable.