Where do I start? Not exactly new to this but feel like it... repeater questions

WRQI485

Ok, I'll start off introducing myself.

I've had a GMRS license for a couple years but haven't really used it a lot. My main intent in getting it was for communications during off road events with friends and family.

I am finding I am interested in GMRS a little but don't know enough about it to really know what questions to ask or how to properly word them. I am an electrician by trade and did get some electrical theory in my apprenticeship classes in the 1980's. I understand basic Ohms law, inductance, capacitance, impedance and such.

I'm fascinated that there are people in the world that figured out how to extract sand and minerals from the earth and add some electricity to make Bluetooth for example...

I'm not really a big talker but am not anti-social either.

So on to the reason for the post.

This year I acquired a commercial grade UHF antenna and an Icom duplexer, free for the taking if I removed it from the site. The duplexer is currently tuned to the wrong frequencies so I can't really use it as-is.  I am considering getting it re-tuned to a set of GMRS frequencies and adding a repeater into the world. 

I have found this thread and have started reading it but to be honest I haven't made it past page 2 at the time of this post.:

I am not dead set on adding a repeater, but I have a 64 foot tower that I erected many years ago so I could get high speed internet to my home. I live in a rural area and I didn't have many options for high speed. There was a local wireless ISP that seamed reasonably priced but I had to get the antenna higher into the air to reach a usable signal so I ended up installing the tower. Fast forward many years and I now have an unused tower because I have fiber to the house.

I am also, possibly, interested in linking said repeater to the internet.