Hello and a couple questions from a complete noob.

WSAN780

Hello Everybody, hope everyone is well this morning.

I just received my GMRS license yesterday at 3:59am 😁 I have 2 Baofeng GM-15 Pros (also a UV-5R coming in the mail) for my wife and I. I'd like to explore others as well but these were fairly cheap to get us started. So... The other day I was scanning channels and my radio landed on 16 and there was plenty of conversation going on. I was amazed that one gentleman said he was transmitting from Ontario, not sure where but Kingston is the closest to me at 150 miles. I switched to frequency mode and come to find out after checking myGMRS that 16 is a local repeater for me. So I guess my question is, should I avoid using 16 with my wife? I wouldn't want to upset anybody or break any rules. I also enjoy reading and was wondering if you had some suggestions on books related to radio, GMRS, etc? Is there a "For Dummies" book? Haha. Anyhow, I'm pumped that I finally got around to getting some radios and excited to learn all about this stuff.

Take care,

Matt

Welcome to the exciting and dynamic world of GMRS radio!

29 minutes ago, WSAN780 said:

I guess my question is, should I avoid using 16 with my wife? I wouldn't want to upset anybody or break any rules. I also enjoy reading and was wondering if you had some suggestions on books related to radio, GMRS, etc? Is there a "For Dummies" book?

Nobody on the repeater is going to be bothered by you making sexy-talk with your wife from your handhelds, but you will likely be bothered by them, so you may want to avoid Ch16 just so they dont upset you.

As for books, there are probably a lot, but you can probably learn everything you know by just reading through the old topics here.. and of course, by watching the Youtubes.

1 hour ago, WSAN780 said:

Hello Everybody, hope everyone is well this morning.