MS350R Set Up For Repeater Use

brownk89

Question

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to the radio world even though you'd think my USMC Infantry background along with my current Firefighting gig would lead you to believe different. I should've paid closer attention obviously. I recently purchased a pair of Motorola MS350R GMRS/FRS radios. Wasn't even aware of the features or what the capabilities where until thumbing through the user manual. After some time on Google, I applied for and was granted a GMRS license from the FCC. I have spent the past couple of days trying to get these things to work on the repeater function with no luck. I'm a little ways from the nearest repeater but, I don't receive anything. Not even broken communication. I don't believe these things to be digital so I'm under the impression that I should still get garbage as a conformation. But to dive even deeper on the subject, I do not even know what I'm doing. I have no understanding of the freqs, or how to set the radio up in the first place. Everything I can find online is already a step above my understanding. Other than looking at what the channel freqs are and trying to match them (kinda), I have no idea of what's what. I DO know what channels are FRS, FRS/GMRS, and repeated GMRS. Also would like some clarity on the FRS/GMRS channels if you wouldn't mind. Any help will do. All I ask is that you assume I know nothing. Your wisecracks and jokes are encouraged as long as learning is achieved. 

Thanks in advance,

K. Brown

post-978-0-44498800-1462506859_thumb.jpg

10 answers to this question

Welcome to the forums and welcome to the world of GMRS.

If I were you, the first thing that I would do, especially easy to accomplish since you have two radios, is to get together with a friend or whoever and do some testing to ensure that both of your radios are working properly. Do this while separated by some distance, a hundred feet or more would be great.