Issues with dual port solar battery pack

WSBQ643

Question

I am not a battery expert by any means so if someone can explain what is going on I would appreciate it. I am running an SR-112 simplex repeater with a baofeng UV-5G plus radio. I had the SR-112 plugged into a usb charger plugged into the wall and the same for the UV-5G plus. Everything worked perfect. 

The I took a dual port solar battery pack that I use to charge my phone when outdoors and plugged the SR-112 into one port and the UV-5G into the other. This is when I had a SHTF moment. I could transmit on my other radio and see the UV-5G open on receive but the SR-112 would not pass anything. I tried this a couple time and still the same thing. So I unplugged the SR-112 from the batter pack and suddenly my radio lit up and I started getting all three test messages I had sent and then it hung on transmit for several seconds before going back to receive mode. I plugged them back into the wall separately and they started working perfect again. Sore, thinking I had lost my mind I plugged them both back in the the battery pack and got the same results. Nothing! When I unplugged the SR-112 i got all my test messages like before and the same squeal and transmit stuck for several seconds. 

Any ideas would certainly be appreciate. 

6 answers to this question

I don't have any idea. It's one of the big solar panel ones from Amazon and not a name on it anywhere. Did not think of that. I guess it's back to the drawing board and see if I can find one for this. I guess I figured as big as it is and with two ports and supposedly would charge a laptop it was big enough. I saw these used on making bug out boxes to set in the woods and people were using phone charging battery packs. I guess I need to see what the SR-112 calls for as far as amperage as well. Thanks. Still confused but that's not really abnormal. HA!