GMRS Channel 1-22 Understanding

WSAI590

Question

New GMRS user here, that will be obvious, with a question.  Since channels 1-22 receive and transmit are the same frequency I am assuming I can't transmit on them.  I can listen to with no issues, but since I've gotten no responses on the air when I transmit I again assume that they are blocked.  I have the repeaters working fine after getting the tone details from the owners but I am curious on channels 1-22, are they just for monitoring?  I am using a Tidradio H8 GMRS and program with RT Systems software.

Thanks for the help...

Bob

8 answers to this question

Guys I sincerely appreciate the insights you all have provided.  I am a licensed ham operator and have been used to talking with a lot of people.  I had expectations this would be the same on GMRS, clearly it is different.  I have found two repeaters in my area and they work well, with no issues but just was unsure of the pre-programmed channels. I did a quick test and have no problem communicating with another radio on the pre-programmed channels.  Using this for a specific purpose like "for events, off roading, hiking, ect……" makes perfect sense. The attraction to the Tidradio H8 was the ability to switch between ham and GMRS, I use this mostly for ham operations.  I can't thank you guys enough for the enlightenment.

Best regards,

Bob

2 minutes ago, WSAI590 said:

Guys I sincerely appreciate the insights you all have provided.  I am a licensed ham operator and have been used to talking with a lot of people.  I had expectations this would be the same on GMRS, clearly it is different. ...
Using this for a specific purpose like "
for events, off roading, hiking, ect……" makes perfect sense. The attraction to the Tidradio H8 was the ability to switch between ham and GMRS, I use this mostly for ham operations.  I can't thank you guys enough for the enlightenment.