Newbie looking for the best setup in SW Texas

Guest Bart

Guest Bart

Hi All! 

I just purchased my GMRS license and waiting on my callsign to come through so I can join.  In the meantime, a little background for my question.  

I'm new to using a GMRS system but I spend a lot of time hunting and camping in the middle of nowhere in SW Texas near a small town called Dryden.  We lease a property of about 1500 acres with a permanent camping spot where we leave an old camper.  The ground is relatively flat except for minor valleys and hills. (We do have one high hill point on the property that sticks out but it's totally across the property from the camp spot).  You're lucky to get any cell service out there, which is nice except for when you need to communicate with the others out there with you.  

I was hoping I could do some sort of setup with an antenna and a repeater? Do you use or need a Duplexer? I've also seen some people use "mobile base stations".  Is that something worth using if we have ATV's?  Are there conventional "base stations" I should set up?  The last piece to my situation is I'd really prefer if I didn't have to leave a super high antenna out there while I'm gone.  We get quite a bit of wind and storms and wouldn't want it to get damaged.  I'm sure it's like anything else, you get what you pay for but what does a decent system setup cost?  $1-$5k?  

I apologize for all the questions and having no clue where to start but would love it if I could get some advice on making sure I can at least get a system good enough to keep my comm's up while out hunting.  

Thank!

Welcome to the zoo, Bart. You've asked the right questions to get started on your journey. As some answers, here's my take: