GMRS and helmets

5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_my3ke_*

Guest_my3ke_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 June 2017 - 01:52 PM

While I ponder joining the forum because I seem to be in the bubble pack league, I was wondering if anybody has ever tried using GMRS radios with helmets?  In my case, I'm thinking of use on a motorcycle, but it could be useful information for ATV users and the like.  Seems to me this could be a useful solution for folks over the expensive bluetooth communicators that are out there.  

Yes, I have a license.  Yes I'm a noob when it comes to GMRS.

Thanks for your time,

my3ke

#2 SteveC7010

SteveC7010

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 184 posts
  • LocationNorthville, NY in the southern Adirondacks!
  • GMRS Callsign:WQPG808
  • Ham Callsign:KD2IAT

Posted 28 June 2017 - 02:30 PM

While I ponder joining the forum because I seem to be in the bubble pack league, I was wondering if anybody has ever tried using GMRS radios with helmets? In my case, I'm thinking of use on a motorcycle, but it could be useful information for ATV users and the like. Seems to me this could be a useful solution for folks over the expensive bluetooth communicators that are out there.

Yes, I have a license. Yes I'm a noob when it comes to GMRS.

Thanks for your time,
my3ke

There are all kinds of helmet radio solutions for commercial gear as well as GMRS. Just look around net a bit. Racing teams and motorcycle folks use them a lot.

A typical race car has a mobile radio and a helmet mic and earphones plus a remote PTT button on the steering wheel. Motorcycle setups are similar but with a PTT button on the handle bars. On motorcycles, you have the option of using an HT or a mobile. I use a similar setup, but with an NFL style headset with an HT on my belt for EMS field operations.

Rochester-Monroe County E911 1976 to 2003 - Dispatcher II #7010
Northampton Ambulance - Unit 2829

Tactical Call Sign: Spider Man

#3 XSevenSonata

XSevenSonata

Advanced Member