NEW TO GMRS- NEED SOME HELP

riosrr

Question

Hello Everyone,

Im new to GMRS, have my license, call sign and radio. For the life of me cant figure out how to input tones or get on a repeater. I'm open to all suggestions and instructions. I have a set of three btech V1 radios and was hoping to have family members have direct comm. Guess I have a lot to learn, so firstly I do understand that there is a channel mode and frequency mode. ON the channel mode it displays REPT or GMRS do both radios have to be on the same REPT and GMRS setting? Well there it is in a nutshell, I'm a total newb. Hope you guys got a few laughs out of my questions, now on to the learning.

Respectfully,

WRDX435

5 answers to this question

Welcome to the group first of all. There are a lot of people with a lot more knowledge about the subject than I, but my first question is if you purchased a programming cable with your radios? The cable will make things a lot easier to do once the answers begin to come in. The second thing is to go to chirp.danplanet.com and down CHIRP. This is the programming software that will allow you to input all the necessary numbers to get your radios fully functional and allow you to copy the configuration "code plug" to the other radios you have.

(Relative newbie here as well)

On the Rept vs gmrs, are you talking about menu settings or channels? If this is channels, yes, both radios would need to be set the same to have a chance of communicating.

The regular gmrs channels, the radio transmits and receives on the same frequency, for talking direct to another radio.