mygmrs

drk1970nj

What happened to the idea of ios ? Guessing no one is making the app 

My understanding is that there is a MyGMRS app, (I have it on my phone) however it is basic as Rich is the only one working on it, not to mention he is maintaining the site, a linked server, weekly nets, as well as a full time job and his family. Rich is doing a lot and so some projects will take some time.

I’d like to add the following comments, not about GRMS per se, but related to the OP’s suggestion about writing an iOS app when there is already a myGMRS.com Android app out there (which I have, and I use, and I like a lot).

I am a member of a few local car clubs, and as a computer programmer by trade (retired now), I wrote and still maintain their websites.  When the need for mobile apps arose, I researched how to do it for them.  The following points are what I discovered, and may be appropriately superimposed on top of the suggestion of writing an iOS version of the myGRMS Android mobile app:

1 – Market Share

In my research (at the time, circa spring 2020) I found that market share for Android vs. iOS mobile apps were somewhere around 77-87% Android, to 12-23% iOS, and <5% Windows (the number changes all the time, so it doesn’t seem add up to 100%).  Now in fairness, last I checked, iOS market share was gaining on Android, but it is slow and still had a LONG way to go to be close.

2 - Cost

Android Studio (AS) development software is open-source and is free to download for use on a Windows PC. I downloaded it to my existing laptop PC and it runs just fine.  I hooked my smart phone via USB for testing.  So, using AS for free, my existing PC, existing monitors and existing smart phone, I successfully developed two Android mobile apps for almost* no additional cost.