How much does wattage factor into uhf range ?

DRoberts

Question

Hi everyone , I am a newbie so don’t beat me up to bad. I have looked all around in the forms hear and elsewhere for this topic but have not found any straight answers . 

We use an MXT400 with 6db antenna, MXT115 with 3db antenna and 805g ht (with Nagoya NA771g antenna) to communicate in our heavily wooded flat area. The MXT115 and 805G seem to “reach out” just as well as the MXT400 and I was wondering why the MXT400 doesn’t perform a little better then the smaller radios . I know uhf is line of sight and in our wooded area that’s not far but I would have thought the bigger radio would “burn” through the woods a little better. 
Any advise is much appreciated 

thank you 

WRKL657

9 answers to this question

No direct range calculation for wattage.

It is just more umph to get through the noise floor. So it will get you some more distance, in perception.

If you took all three in an airplane and cranked then at max wattage. All three would get the same distance. But the highest powered one would come in stronger and louder at the edges due to the umph making you heard over the noise floor (if you use squelch, it would open the squelch depending on the setting). Hence, the monitor button on most radios.

When search for weak signals you turn off the squelch. Most of the time you can barely get any copy but sometimes, sometimes.

Through trees and such yes a little power can help. But trees do a great job of attenuationing vhf/uhf signals. They do an even better job of blocking signals when wet.

Also when you double the power you only net 3db worth of signal strength. In theory.