Trying to Indentify Repeaters in My Area

WRPV362

I am new to GMRS and just purchased two Midland MXT 500s micromobiles (one for mobile and one for a base).  However, living inside the beltway in Southern Montgomery County, Maryland, the only two repeaters that I can connect to that would be of use to extend my range in the DC metro appear to be Largo MD (posted range of 23 miles) and Scaggsville MD (posted range of 100 miles).  I contacted both owners and asked for permission to use.  Unfortunately, my connection to both repeaters is so poor that they don't do any better than my simplex connection in terms of extending my range (actually worse).  The other repeaters that appear to be in range of Bethesda are REACT only or very limited in posted transmission/reception range.  I am using a Midland MXT A26 (6db gain) with a ground plane attached as my base antenna at approx 25ft evaluation and also a MXT A26 antenna for my mobile.  I also tried an Ed Fong antenna for my base, and it was similar in range to my Midland base antenna (approx 10 to 15 miles depending on direction). My question is; 1) do you expect that the number of GMRS repeaters open to the public will increase significantly over the next couple years so I will have a chance in the future to connect to one that will help me in extending my range from my home/base location and; 2) are there other repeaters within range of the Bethesda, MD/South Montgomery County area that I can connect to with decent reception that I am may have overlooked?  I may just return both radios if I can't find a solution.  

Hit the gear icon at the top left of the map, and enable the 'show stale repeaters' option. It looks like there are one or two others in the vicinity of DC with that enabled that may be worth trying.