New to GRMS

Guest James

Guest James

I'm new to gmrs and I'm looking for any help that I can get on how to set up my radio. I just got my license and my call sign is WRTH 855. I have what I believe is an older Midland MXT 90 that I've had for a couple of years. and I'm totally lost. any help that anyone can give me I would greatly appreciate it. I'm in the Graham North Carolina area if there's anyone around that can help me.

Guest WRTH855

Do we identify ourselves with our call sign at the beginning and end of our transmission? Is there a proper etiquette on how we should talk on the radio. I have questions about programming a repeater on my radio. The instructions that came with my Midland MTX 90 seem a little confusing. How do I find out if there's any local clubs in my area.

§ 95.1751  GMRS station identification.

Each GMRS station must be identified by transmission of its  FCC-assigned call sign at the end of transmissions and at periodic intervals during transmissions except as provided in paragraph (c) of this section. A unit number may be included after the call sign in the identification.

(a) The GMRS station call sign must be transmitted:

(1) Following a single transmission or a series of transmissions; and,

(2) After 15 minutes and at least once every 15 minutes thereafter during a series of transmissions lasting more than 15 minutes.

The only etiquette on GMRS is to speak English like a normal person and dont be a dickhead.

You can usually find local clubs through the use of your Googles machine or by monitoring your local GMRS channels to see who's out there.

It is important to understand that GMRS is not ham, and most/many people use it only for specific communication needs, like talking to their group while off-roading, talking to partners when hiking, etc.  Because of this you may not hear much when monitoring unless you are in a large population center.

32 minutes ago, OffRoaderX said: