Repeater or dual antenna?

WRUE538

Question

I'm an old Navy METCAL tech, YouTube expert with zero GMRS knowledge. I've researched Dr. Fong antennas,  Fumei 50w duplexer, notch duplexer tuning, using NANO vnaH4, etc. Building a 50w repeater using 2 Wouxun KG1000's. I can locate 2 vertical antennas 20' apart on a conex container. My question is why would I rather even want a duplexer with no loss other than good cables and gain from antennas?

Thanks from Pryor, Colorado 

12 answers to this question

It all depends on your expectation on how well the system will work. A duplexer helps keep desense to a minimum. The antenna is the most important part of the repeater. Spending quality funds on a good antenna and line twice is normally more money than a duplexer and one good antenna. Also if your going at a commercial tower you pay per antenna and line on the tower. I can say you can get a repeater that is designed as a repeater cheaper than you will get 2 KG1000's ...food for though

7 hours ago, gortex2 said:

It all depends on your expectation on how well the system will work. A duplexer helps keep desense to a minimum. The antenna is the most important part of the repeater. Spending quality funds on a good antenna and line twice is normally more money than a duplexer and one good antenna. Also if your going at a commercial tower you pay per antenna and line on the tower. I can say you can get a repeater that is designed as a repeater cheaper than you will get 2 KG1000's ...food for though

No commercial rent problem, already have the high ground and facility. Another 20' LM400 w/ connectors (will already need one) is $65, $49 for a Fong kit. Also less 2 jumpers to duplexer should be cheaper? I'll certainly look into the repeater being cheaper. I know there's used Motorola's in racks around but not sure about 70cm bandwidth. Thank you for your reply