Why do I receive the same transmission on multiple Repeater Channel's?

Link6950

Question

I am new to radios so please bear with me. Why do I receive the same transmission on multiple repeater channel's? I am using a pair of Baofeng UV-5G's. Out of the box when I move through the repeater channels I am sometimes able to receive the same transmission on more than one repeater channel. I know repeater channels are duel band channels and share GMRS channels for receiving transmission so I expect to receive the same transmission on 2 channels. However I should not expect to receive the same transmission on 2 separate repeater channels correct? Example: When I use RPT-1 I can receive transmission on GMRS-16 and RPT-1 but send transmission only on RPT-1.

9 answers to this question

3 minutes ago, MichaelLAX said:

1) $40 radio = $40 selectivity; and

2) how close are they when you are testing them?

I have not yet tested the radios together. I noticed the potential problem while fiddling with one radio on and the other turned off. So it is other user transmissions not my own I am hearing. I guess it could be a price point problem but because I an planing to use the radios primarily for day hikes I did not want to go all in on a high price point. Thanks for the reply.

18 minutes ago, Link6950 said:

I am new to radios so please bear with me. Why do I receive the same transmission on multiple repeater channel's? I am using a pair of Baofeng UV-5G's. Out of the box when I move through the repeater channels I am sometimes able to receive the same transmission on more than one repeater channel. I know repeater channels are duel band channels and share GMRS channels for receiving transmission so I expect to receive the same transmission on 2 channels. However I should not expect to receive the same transmission on 2 separate repeater channels correct? Example: When I use RPT-1 I can receive transmission on GMRS-16 and RPT-1 but send transmission only on RPT-1.