Vertex VRX-7000 transmit issue

chasedog1

Question

19 answers to this question

5 hours ago, chasedog1 said:

A Vertex tech sold me the repeater after he serviced and did an alignment. everything seems to be back correctly. The HT only receives on the frequency the repeater is on, I go a few mhz up or down and its gone. it does stop when I remove the HT's antenna

I don’t think anything is wrong. You shouldn’t expect a handheld radio not to have its receiver circuitry overwhelmed by a high power transmitter nearby. 

The repeater is constantly generating low power RF with PL by design.  The final PA is turned on and off to facilitate actual transmit. 

You are picking up that RF signal and it's opening up your radio.  This is completely NORMAL and is not a concern.

MTR and Quantar repeaters do the same thing. 

2 hours ago, tweiss3 said:

This may be the case, I have no personal experience with this specific repeater, but when my Kenwood was on the bench, the second it flipped into service mode, and the oscillator was turned on, all radios on that frequency in the room picked up the carrier, even without the PA being on.