Uv 9g programing repeaters

WRVQ831

Question

Greetings and Salutations,

I am new to GMRS. I have a Baofeng uv 9g. I have watched many videos on how to program repeaters into my radio. The issue is even after I follow all the instructions, I am not able to transmit on the channel I just made. So, I have to reset everything and start again. Can anyone help me figure out what I am doing wrong. My callsign WRVQ831. Thank you in advance.

14 answers to this question

What frequency are you trying to put in? Where in the radio (what channel space) are you putting it? Are you in channel mode when you are trying to tx. I have found Chirp is easier to use to program the radio. I like being able to see all the info on a page before me.  You need to be in channel mode to tx and it needs to be a GMRS frequency and in the 1-54 channels. 23-54 are pre set for repeaters with +5 offset but that can be changed. 

Okay so I was a bit tired when I saw your post last night and in retrospect felt I could have done more to help... Here is a screen shot of a typical Chirp Repeater set up on your radio using the same input and output tones. 

image.thumb.jpeg.b73524381b224d4d640aed45a17d311c.jpeg

Also you may find this info on Chirp tone programming is helpful. https://wiki.radioreference.com/images/0/0a/CHIRP_tone_programming.pdf

Hello, I am using frequency mode to enter the out code say "444100" then I save it.  I then enter the offset of say"000.500" and save that; then enter the "- or +", then the hz say "162.2" and I save that all on channel "31".  After which when I change the radio back to channel mode and key up channel "31" nothing happens. I would seem I need to use Chirp.  LOL

22 minutes ago, WRVQ831 said:

I then enter the offset of say"000.500" and save that...

The offset is 5.0 MHz; as shown in the CHIRP photo above.

444100?!?  Not a GMRS frequency.