How to build a repeater for beginners.

shevo7385

Question

Hello everyone and thank you for taking the time to read this question and answer it. I do realize that this may be a heavily asked question; however, I am hoping to make the answer more efficient and richer in data so others who find themselves to a similar position may have answers or at least a direction to go in. I am relatively new to the GMRS world and even newer to the repeater side of things so my knowledge is severely limited, at best. Using the forum here to gather information on the topic I found that a simple basic repeater system is composed of the following:

1.     Dual-use or Omni antenna for transmitting (TX) and receiving (RX) signals.

2.     Feedline or Hardline to connect the antenna to the duplexer.

3.     Duplexer

4.     Receiver

5.     Repeater

6.     Transmitter