Antenna selection home base station

WRWJ577

I'm new to GMRS and have found myself overwhelmed while researching antennas. I have chosen midland mxta26 for my mobile setup. Would that be fine for base station or should I do one of the longer fiberglass ones? Any help in this would be appreciated. Any questions I haven't thought about would also be appreciated.

It depends.. on many factors... BUT:

If you will be installing it on your roof, a large fiberglass type "base" antenna like the Tram1486 is probably a better choice as it will perform better and does not require a ground-plane.

If you just want to put it in the window, then the MXTA26 is probably a better choice as it is smaller and will fit in the window better than a 5-8Ft long fiberglass type base antenna and you can slap a pie-pan under it for the groundplane.

I'll second the recommendation for the Tram1486.  

I used my MXTA26 temporarily mounted to a porch railing, with decent results while awaiting coax...and decent weather.  Once the ice was off the roof, up went the new Tram.  The higher elevation provided vastly improved reception.

Keep in mind that the Tram will likely require some tuning for GMRS frequencies.  The antenna comes with very good tuning instructions that require you to take the antenna apart, carefully measure and trim each section accordingly, and then reassemble the antenna to test SWR.

Please trim incrementally, working your way to the measurement with the lowest SWR by trimming a small amount at a time and then reassembling and testing SWR   If you trim too much...it takes forever to grow back ?

I stopped trimming after three cuts when my antenna measured 1.16:1 SWR on the workbench.  On the roof, with new coax, it measured a high of 1.04:1.

I am certain that OffRoaderX has some excellent videos showing how to tune an antenna and measure SWR with the Fars-O-Meter 2000 for reference.

22 hours ago, nokones said:

Kinda like what I had done.