Is a portable repeater viable for deer camp?

jsneezy

I'm pretty new to GMRS, just got licensed a couple weeks ago, after purchasing a pair of Baofeng UV-9G radios for myself and my wife. My hunting buddy also picked up the same model of radio. 

I was thinking about running a repeater like the Retevis RT97 at camp so that we might be able to keep communication up in case we get separated or stake out different locations. My thought is to use a hitch receiver mast holder with either a 20 or 30 foot mast with guy lines and an omnidirectional antenna at the top. I have a solar generator or I can build an ammo can battery pack to keep the repeater on without draining the truck battery. 

I also wanted to see if anyone here has any experience with retevissolutions.com or if I should order the repeater and antenna elsewhere.

I setup my RT97 on a hill in the desert and got several miles of farz in all directions, where transmitting on simplex had no range (because of the hills).

I got mine from retevissolutions.com, but I would have got it on Amazon if it was available due to faster shipping and the painless return policy. 

1 minute ago, OffRoaderX said:

I setup my RT97 on a hill in the desert and got several miles of farz in all directions, where transmitting on simplex had no range (because of the hills).

I got mine from retevissolutions.com, but I would have got it on Amazon if it was available due to faster shipping and the painless return policy. 

I just so happen to be your favorite viewer, and it was your videos on the RT97 that inspired me to go that route. 

Being in Arizona, I could end up hunting a wooded area or a desert area. It just depends on how the draw goes this year. I do know that the environmental variables will have an affect on range. Aside from that, I know the setup can be used for things like family camping trips as well.