Good GMRS or Ham HT for railroad scanning?

NotaSAAB

Question

I recently obtained my Technician's license so I could legally scan in my state (MN) and obtained a GMRS license at about the same time as it seems more aligned with my potential use doing non-radio hobby stuff.

Which handheld would be a good balance of scanning capability (sensitivity, speed of scanning, ability to select only certain frequencies for scanning) and GMRS functionality?  

For background, I have an old 20-channel Radio Shack handheld that served me well for a long time for scanning railroad band + 457.9375 (end of train device freq). I usually only want to scan 20 or less channels depending upon my location (based on the railroads of interest and what channels they use in that location).

I now have a Radioddity GM-30, a BTech GMRS v2 and a Explorer QRZ-1 which I'm still learning.  I also have a couple of Signal Stick antennas (SMA-M SMA-F).

From my searches so far, I should be looking at setting up scan groups and enabling/disabling frequencies from scanning if my handhelds have those capabilities.

Would I see any noticeable improvement in scanning/receiving performance with something like a Wouxon KG-935 Plus, KG-UV8H or KG-UV9PX?  Is there another deviceI should consider, such as Yaesu FT-70DR or VX-6R based on superior scanning capability?

If I have a good HT for my purpose, is there a mobile that would be similarly useful for my use case?

I'm not really interested in TX much unless it's with friends/family on GMRS most likely unless there's some other mode that seems useful.  I already have enough hobbies. ?

Thank you!