New to GMRS - neighborhood watch

Hi everyone, 

I am new to the GMRS community and using a HT TIDRADIO GM-5R, so nothing big yet. 
Just wanted to reach out as I was hoping in the Denver/Aurora-border area in CO are some
GMRS users whom I can connect to. 
I was hoping also to maybe create a GMRS radio community watch in order to maybe
be aware of some suspicious activities in the area. 
I know, there is also NEXTDOOR, but until you get a notification, it might be already too late.

Let me know, if there is someone nearby. As mentioned, I have only the HT and would only 
go and install a base station, if really necessary. 

I was using CB radio long time ago, but wanted to join the GMRS-community as you are
just more serious and also more professional, due to the license and the quite low amount
of available channels. 

Looking forward to hearing from you. 

That is a good idea. If there aren't a lot of GMRS users in you area you can start with you closest neighbors. I did an FCC search for licensed GMRS people in my area and found one in my neighborhood. I purchased a cheap GMRS radio for my well-neighbor's birthday this month. He saw me using mine during a snow storm multiple day power outage earlier this year. I have talked to several other people in our area about getting radio, even a simple FRS radio to begin with. From there we'll try to encourage folks to turn them on when the power goes out (like it did last night), during bad weather, wild fires in the area etc. It seems the biggest hurdle is to get non-radio nerds to see the value of having a non-cell phone method of communication. Good luck and have fun.

20 minutes ago, WRHS218 said: