Brand New w/ no Equipment - Interested in family communication in emergencies etc

Tiercel

Question

Greetings, and thanks to the hard workers who maintain this forum.  I have founded and administered forums and I know the work it takes to get and keep a good forum going.

I Just got my license, and I am studying for my Ham license Test in about 4 weeks), but GMRS will probably be my go-to since I don't need another intense hobby.

I think I will start with a mobile that I can lug to the house as a base if I want.  I also want a couple of handheld units. I probably won't get them all at once just because I am sure I will learn as I go. I am not an intense prepper but I do want some SHTF communication plan for my family.  I will also use them for outings, fishing, etc.

I might add that cost is not a huge issue as long as I am not extravagant.  I want good practical, functional, equipment.

Any words of wisdom?

I should have been clear.  I am an active 73-year-old with a grown family in the area.  No more kids.  In fact, my youngest grandchildren are just entering college.  I am looking more for good serviceable equipment than expendable equipment.  It does not have to be top of the line with every bell and whistle just to impress people, but I want it to function and be something that can be depended on for emergencies.