Simple Antenna Advice for both GMRS and Ham

Tiercel

Question

There probably is not any SIMPLE antenna advice for Ham. But let's start with GMRS.

I am going to order 2 Baofeng UV-9 G HTs.

Is there a magnetic mount or some other simple mount mobile antenna that will significantly increase their range.?

Also, is there some simple antenna I can rig in the attic of my two-story house that will make a significant difference with a 5-watt HT?  I expect to get a good mobile unit once I get acclimated with these two Baofengs.

I am currently studying for my Ham exam, and I assume there is some information on antennas in there, but I have not gotten that far yet, and I understand little about matching antennas to frequency, using a n SWR, etc.

2 answers to this question

Don't expect big differences with hts. However, the antenna outside in the air is certainly a step in the right direction. The higher up the better.

With antennas in the attic. Make sure you don't have the metallic roof barrier, metal shingles. It will be better but not leaps and margins.

I made my own indoor blade antenna with n9tax twin line jpole and electric track (to hide wires). It's mounted to the kitchen area and goes up 2 stories. Coupled with even a 20 watt radio it gets quite far.

Sent from my SM-S901U using Tapatalk