Antenna affecting power output

dugcyn

Question

Most likely a stupid question but hey I am just a machinist in trade.

I have a radio in truck that in testing with a sure com puts out at high power setting 10 watts. it is rated 50 watts. when I hook this same radio to base antenna sure com reads 17 watts. what say you.

any input would be appreciated, i love learning new things. Radio is not my end game but a tool and would love to learn how to use it best.

fyi same radio, very similar input power supply, same frequency (gmrs).

12 answers to this question

1 hour ago, dugcyn said:

I have a radio in truck that in testing with a sure com puts out at high power setting 10 watts. it is rated 50 watts. when I hook this same radio to base antenna sure com reads 17 watts. what say you.

any input would be appreciated, i love learning new things. Radio is not my end game but a tool and would love to learn how to use it best.

fyi same radio, very similar input power supply, same frequency (gmrs).

What does the Surecom say is your reflected power?  What does it say is the SWR?  Where is the Surecom in the transmission line (coax), at the antenna or next to the radio? What kind of coax are you using?

Welcome to the forums!!

1 hour ago, dugcyn said:

No such thing as a stupid question. And being a machinist, you're probably smarter than half the people here. Describe for us, if you will, your setup. Radio make and model, antenna make and model, how it's all mounted, wired, that kind of thing. More info from you = better answers from MyGMRS. 

thanx

trying to keep brand out 

antenna in truck is quad band and antenna at shop is ??? looks has 5 spikes 2 near vertical. I do have a comet 70' and last tested this radeo put out 46 watts. have not gone back there yet, was new when i got that result.

the ??? antenna works perfect with other radios 70cm and 2m. reads 1.03 swr.   fwy my truck antenna is at 1.9 swr.