Need Step by Step

jwsmith2316

Question

Ok, as you can tell I'm new to GMRS. I desperately want to learn how to connect to a repeater so I can reach a broader audience. I have a Baofeng GMRS-9R handheld. Here is a repeater I would like to connect with once I have permission:

image.thumb.png.c2fbc20f961238a6950ab3121bb0174e.png

Can you give me a step by step on what I need to program my radio?  Please don't assume I know much cause I don't. 

I will be so grateful for any help.

Thank you

John Smith

WRZU215

16 answers to this question

@jwsmith2316 Welcome to GMRS. It may feel like drinking from a fire hose at first but be patient, you will get it just like the rest of us. Mark has a video for learning GMRS. I don't have the link handy but I bet someone will chime is soon with it.

A few points up front:

• Channels 1-22 are "simplex" which means sending(TX) and receiving(RX) on the same frequency.
  • Channels 23+ are usually "duplex" which means TX on one frequency and (RX) on another. You will use this for repeaters. (+5MHz offset for GMRS but your GMRS radio should already do this for you.)
  • PL tones aren't private, they just filter out any signal that doesn't have the same tone. You will usually use this for repeaters.
  • Split tones just means a different tone for TX and RX. Some repeaters use this, most use the same for TX and RX.

Hopefully this background info will help you understand everything else you read.

3 hours ago, jwsmith2316 said:

Ok, as you can tell I'm new to GMRS. I desperately want to learn how to connect to a repeater so I can reach a broader audience. I have a Baofeng GMRS-9R handheld. Here is a repeater I would like to connect with once I have permission:

image.thumb.png.c2fbc20f961238a6950ab3121bb0174e.png

Can you give me a step by step on what I need to program my radio?  Please don't assume I know much cause I don't. 

I will be so grateful for any help.

Thank you

John Smith

WRZU215