Antenna question on roof of 4Runner

WRZP383

Question

Newbie here trying to figure out some antenna stuff.

2021 Toyota 4Runner with an overlanding rack on the roof.  Aluminum side rails with aluminum cross bars 8-12" apart.  Rack is bolted to stock roof luggage rack mounting points

UT-72G magnetic antenna

Laird B4502NR antenna

Melowave 3/8" NMO antenna mount with 14.5' CFD200 cable

Wouxun kg-935+ handheld

I have been using the HT with the Nagoya on the roof of the truck between the bars and it has worked pretty decent.  Bought the Laird 1/2 wave for my SxS since I do not have a good place to put a ground plane.  Saw some threads about that I really should have the antenna in the clear on the truck instead of between the crossbars so I got a piece of 16ga steel 12"x18" and mounted it on top of the crossbars for a ground plane/place for the magnetic base to stick.  I did paint the steel with some Rustoleum.  I also put the Melowave in the middle of the steel thinking I could try the Laird on the truck and potentially move it between the truck and SxS if it worked better.  Reception with the Nagoya now seems to be a little worse on the steel and transmit I can't hit the repeaters as well either.  I checked the SWR with a Surecom 102 (yeah seems people really don't like them) and Nagoya shows 1.4 but with the Laird/Melowave it's 2.4 so I didn't hit transmit to try it.  Is moving the groundplane off the roof itself a bad idea?  Obviously the roof is painted and it worked there but is the type of paint a problem?  What would cause a high SWR with the Laird?  Also saw some threads with a handheld the SWR is not that important/made to handle a high SWR?

12 answers to this question

Are you talking with your friends on the trail, or trying to bounce signals off the moon and talk to strangers across the planet?