During the day, I can have conversations on a repeater. At night, it's different.

I'll preface this with, I'm new to GMRS.

I can communicate with others on a repeater, that's 28 miles away, during the day: loud and clear, maybe a bit of static but not bad at all. At night though, sometimes they can hear me but I CAN'T hear them...OR...they can't hear me but I CAN hear them. Does this have something to do with the time of day?

I know the repeater is quite a distance away, but it seems odd that during the day everything works just fine, but then at night it does this.

Some theories some may be wrong:

Street lamps/house lamps causing interference

Tropospheric Ducting or Radiating Inversion causing far away signals to interfere

Heavy night fogs.

The repeater is solar powered only and the battery is on it's last legs. (If no one can talk to each other at night and it's not just you).

28miles is on the edge for a hand held   Should be fine for a base station. What radio are you using?  If it’s not a solar power issue then I’d agree it’s something sciency.    If you’re using a hand held can you upgrade the antenna?  Mount a bigger one out side and run a cable?   

18 minutes ago, WRYC373 said:

Some theories some may be wrong:

Street lamps/house lamps causing interference

Tropospheric Ducting or Radiating Inversion causing far away signals to interfere

Heavy night fogs.

The repeater is solar powered only and the battery is on it's last legs. (If no one can talk to each other at night and it's not just you).

Doubt it's street lamp.

Not familiar enough with Tropospheric Ducting to be able to give an opinion there.

Fog/Cloud cover...maybe. 

Not solar powered. Heard a conversation tonight from someone about as far away as I am. I could hear them...but they couldn't hear me. I did take my mobile 20watt out a half mile down the road and could get through though.

11 minutes ago, WRXP381 said: