Noob General Questions

I am a newbie and have some general questions.  Would any of you care to weigh in on the following questions:

1. I am aware of the standard 22 channels plus 8 repeater channels (frequencies, power, bandwidth).  Is it allowable to add an offset if the resulting Tx frequency is a standard GMRS frequency (so, half duplex)?

2. There is no standard for PL tones on the channels, right? Is a standard practice for different manufacturers of bubble-pack radios to set their channels up differently in regards to PL tones?

3. If a manufacturer allows for a scramble mode (beat shift, ie. frequency shift) instead of, or in addition to PL tones, could this take the frequencies outside of the allowable bandwidth?

4. I understand that HAM radios are not supposed to be used for GMRS.  If a GMRS radio can have the channel setups (other than PL codes) changed, is it really a GMRS radio?

5. Another way of asking #4 is...are GMRS radios allowed to have aspects of channels setups (except PL codes) customized? Does this technically make it a HAM radio in the FCC's eyes?

6. How many people just take Baofeng radios (Radioddity, Tidradio, inexpensive Chinese radios, etc.) and program them for GMRS? What effect does this have on others using GMRS?

Thanks for your input!

1. So you are asking about transmitting on one of the channels not set aside for transmitting to repeaters and receiving on another. Like 462.550 and 462.675?

There’s no prohibition against that but it needlessly ties up two channels. 

9 minutes ago, IndyGMRS said:

I am a newbie and have some general questions.  Would any of you care to weigh in on the following questions:

1. I am aware of the standard 22 channels plus 8 repeater channels (frequencies, power, bandwidth).  Is it allowable to add an offset if the resulting Tx frequency is a standard GMRS frequency (so, half duplex)?