Jump to content


Photo

Midland MXT115 "issue"


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 AA3RT

AA3RT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLa Plata, MD
  • GMRS Callsign:WQZD805
  • Ham Callsign:AA3RT

Posted 30 November 2017 - 11:05 AM

After obtaining my GMRS license earlier this year, I finally broke down and ordered the Midland MXT115 that just arrived yesterday. 

 

I put it in my vehicle this morning just to give it a checkout. There is a GMRS repeater within 2 miles of my residence and thought I'd try making a contact however I can't get the radio to go in to "Repeater" mode.

 

The instructions in the manual are fairly straight forward and I've followed them step-by-step however I cannot get the desired sub "rP" to appear on the display, nor will it transmit in duplex mode on the repeater channels. 

 

Before I call Midland tech support can anyone suggest a hint or possibly a step that isn't in the instruction manual?

 

Thanks, Art WQZD805



#2 dhm001

dhm001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationBaltimore City, Locust Point (FM19qg)
  • GMRS Callsign:WRAG777
  • Ham Callsign:KB3NEU

Posted 30 November 2017 - 04:35 PM

Did you verify that your T-CTCS tone matches the input tone of the repeater?  Sometimes repeater operators change the tone for various reasons and don't get around to documenting online.



#3 AA3RT

AA3RT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • LocationLa Plata, MD
  • GMRS Callsign:WQZD805
  • Ham Callsign:AA3RT

Posted 30 November 2017 - 11:50 PM

That isn't the problem - I can't get the radio to go into repeater mode at all.



#4 dhm001

dhm001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationBaltimore City, Locust Point (FM19qg)
  • GMRS Callsign:WRAG777
  • Ham Callsign:KB3NEU

Posted 01 December 2017 - 09:25 AM

Yea that is strange looks like your channels are pre-configured all you have to do is put it on channel 15 through 22 and put it in repeater mode and should be good to go.  If you figure it out let me know what you did I have been looking at that radio for my car so I'm curious.

 

 



#5 WQEJ577

WQEJ577

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 89 posts
  • LocationCentral Jersey
  • GMRS Callsign:WQEJ577
  • Ham Callsign:N2DLX

Posted 07 December 2017 - 03:50 PM

According to the manual, you need to hit the Menu button until you get "rP" on the screen, then select "On" to enable duplex mode. Sounds like they (thankfully) turned this off by default.

 

https://midlandusa.c...nal-24Oct16.pdf


  • berkinet likes this

Rich Dunajewski

Founder, myGMRS.com


#6 berkinet

berkinet

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 51 posts
  • GMRS Callsign:WQYR510
  • Ham Callsign:WB6TAE

Posted 07 December 2017 - 08:48 PM

According to the manual...

Or, in more colloquial terms, as often ends up being the case, RTFM 😉
  • WQEJ577 and mcallahan like this

Everything we hear is an opinion, not a fact. Everything we see is a perspective, not the truth.

-- Marcus Aurelius


#7 rsgagnon

rsgagnon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • GMRS Callsign:wqzw288

Posted 16 January 2018 - 09:09 AM

Programming the MXT115 is not intuitive, and when you press the up button on the mike it will pass GMRS22 then hit GMRS15 with RP (very small) Highlighted.  The CTCSS codes will show a Sine wave (again small) and you have associated numbers (in the manual) the confirm or save is the scan button.   

 

hope that helps, I the same radio (2 weeks now) and even with squelch set to 1 it never breaks for noise and when a signal comes through it pops and fades,  trying to get support out of midland is treacherous ground.



#8 rsgagnon

rsgagnon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • GMRS Callsign:wqzw288

Posted 05 February 2018 - 03:15 PM

I have the same radio and after getting a receive issue resolved, the replacement radio is working great.  I can hit many repeaters in the area and with my BTech GMRS-V1 (part 95 approved FCC ID:2AGND-GMRS-V1) I am able to validate success.  When I release the mike, I hear the tail.  I have used this radio to hit a repeater about 11 miles away and talk to someone in Dallas and we figured we were 40 miles apart.   Funny, I could hear him on the HT with the Duckie with static, put the Luiton NA771 on the HT and he was clear.   Have not keyed this to hit repeaters.  Did find that with CHIRP on the B-Tech I can add repeaters and their names to the other memory positions.  BTECH has successfully taken a successful HAM radio and locked it to GMRS to get the part 95.   

 

I asked midland about using CHIRP and they indicated it would not work, so manual is all there is.  Sure like using software to add the data and names for local repeaters to the Btech radios.....


  • cateyetech likes this

#9 dhm001

dhm001

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • LocationBaltimore City, Locust Point (FM19qg)
  • GMRS Callsign:WRAG777
  • Ham Callsign:KB3NEU

Posted 05 February 2018 - 03:47 PM

I have a BTECH GMRS-V1 and Chirp works fine both on Windows 10 and Ubuntu 17.10.  The only annoying thing is every time I load a file I have to tell Chip what radio it is does not do that with my other BTECH radios.  



#10 Soladaddy

Soladaddy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • GMRS Callsign:WRAP276
  • Ham Callsign:KG4GXI

Posted 06 February 2018 - 07:39 AM

Heard about several 115s having receive issues. Did Midland get that worked out?



#11 PB92

PB92

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • LocationEast Haven, CT.
  • GMRS Callsign:WQYX865

Posted 07 February 2018 - 03:36 PM

I also have heard about the 115 and the receive issues. There is also a youtube video about that issue.



#12 Soladaddy

Soladaddy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • GMRS Callsign:WRAP276
  • Ham Callsign:KG4GXI

Posted 16 February 2018 - 12:08 PM

I also have heard about the 115 and the receive issues. There is also a youtube video about that issue.

Saw one where the 105 was better at receiving. Noticed that Amazon has been out of stock of the 115. Hoping its because they have stopped production to fix them.


  • PB92 likes this

#13 PB92

PB92

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • LocationEast Haven, CT.
  • GMRS Callsign:WQYX865

Posted 17 February 2018 - 05:17 PM

Exactly, what Soladaddy said..............






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users