Can I get a nudge?

Guest Guest

Guest Guest

Ok, so I have some knowledge of radios and usage and have been studying for my Technicians license......then Covid-19 happened. I have been intrigued by GMRS for a number of years and like the idea of utilizing repeaters to extend range. I also like the 10 year license duration and that my wife and I can have communication even in emergency situations (after a hurricane, etc.). I also like the data and gps possibilities, future use it looks like. And, GMRS is gaining popularity that may fast track advancements from Motorola and others. 

So now, the nudge. Can someone just give me that push? I mean, seriously, is this the perfect arena for family/emergency/group communication? It seems like it, but I am still pretty new to it. 

Is the repeater network like the amateur network, able to talk across the state or country?

How expensive is it to set up a repeater? Do you need a permit to put one up? I am a tinkerer and love to build things so if not too outrageous I would like to do that here. 

I will still pursue my Technicians license, after the lockdown is over, but I really think the GMRS license would be a prefect complement to an amateur license. 

Thank you for this resource and all of the information. If anyone wants to reach out to me you can do it here: edburke313@gmail.com 

Line of sight 8 to 12 miles with ideal antenna and height, some repeaters are linked. On special days you can talk hundreds of miles. no permit, cost of repeater: a few hundred to several thousand, depending on your requirements. If you like to tinker consider building from two old motos. Height is King, higher power in watts seldom improves a less than ideal situation.

The family aspect of the licensing (vs individual) is a definite plus, as is the fact that you can find some decent plug and play equipment off the shelf.