tone settings

cardaddy73

Question

I am trying to set up using Chirp my Baofeng UV5R's, it's going well so far. The GMRS repeaters all give a transmit and receive tone and Chirp does not have a place for this. I have researched it but have not found a definitive answer. By now most of you will realize i am fairly new to this. Thanks for anyones help.

5 answers to this question

I am trying to set up using Chirp my Baofeng UV5R's, it's going well so far. The GMRS repeaters all give a transmit and receive tone and Chirp does not have a place for this. I have researched it but have not found a definitive answer. By now most of you will realize i am fairly new to this. Thanks for anyones help.

had to actual pull up Chirp to work it out (working from a uv5r image too, actually). 

working with the memory slot in question, it was a little finicky with chirp trying to second guess me. it seemed to take the settings if i set the "Tone Mode" Column to "Tone" first, then set both "Tone" (your tx tone) and "ToneSql" (your rx tone) to the appropriate tones, and the "Cross Mode" column changed, as did the "Tone Mode". 

You should end up with "Tone Mode" set to "Cross", "Tone" and "ToneSql" with the appropriate tones for the repeater, and "Cross Mode set to "Tone->Tone"

that said, you don't actually NEED the receive tone set to use the repeater; since it works as a filter, not setting a receive tone will let you hear everything on the channel, both traffic from the repeater and everything else, where setting the tone only lets you hear traffic with the appropriate tone (such as the repeater).

Thank you I also came up with a similar conclusion, the more I learn about the settings the “more” I learn the way it is worded is what confuses me, So the tone on receive is only to hear what is coming from the repeater which is actually a squelch setting.lol thank you for your advice and time.