New to GMRS ...

Guest Andy

Hello, I am new to the GMRS world and cramming for my Technician Test in a few days. The only good thing, if that can even be said, from the pandemic is the testing for the Technician Test is now really easy to find online! This is great because I'm getting ready to redeploy from Kuwait soon and I'm excited to get my equipment and get into this world of communication. I see this as esp. useful since the wife and I are dedicated campers and I am always looking for more reliable communication when we boondock. Strangely, Ham and GMRS is not something I've found common in RV community, at least my limited experince suggests Ham is not a think within the GenX cohort of RVers and I can't say I've  seen a lot BBers with it either, but I've never asked the question either so who am I to really say? One reason could be RVers, like 4Wrs, are not necessarily looking for another hobby to support the RVing lifestyle. Nonetheless, one thing RVers do lie to do is boondock and complain about the lack of communication and try to upgrade thier cellular communication by throwing a lot of money at the problem.  All the while, we use the popular blister-pack FRS radios around the camp-site and beyond and then complain that everyone is on those channels and they are nothing more than toys. What i have seen in increasing popularity in recent years are the GMRS (Midland's GXT1000s specifically) and that must be due to changes in regulations allowing manufactures to make something that is affordable but a step up from the FRS.  However, the one part I do not hear a lot of RVing people talk about is the licensing aspect of the GMRS which maybe just my limited exposure or ignorance on the part of us RVers.